WARNING....ILEGAL YAYP

An ICS Emulator for POGO Chess

WARNING....ILEGAL YAYP

Postby matematiko » 18 Sep 2010 03:38

There is a site called:

h**p://autosomething.net

I was told that YaYp is being offer for download there. I can not verified this because that site requires registration and I am not going to register to sites I do not know about.

I will give the creators of that site the benefit of the doubt, but at the same time I want to remind people of few things:
-YaYp is a perl script, the public release is super-obfuscated and also converted to an executable.
- It is very easy to join two executables into one and make the user believe he is running only one exe.
- The extra executable can be a worm, a back door(Trojan), a virus and what not.

So, the only official download links for YaYp, are the ones posted in this FORUM in the YaYp section.

Download YaYp somewhere else at your own risk.

Be aware also that, so I was told, the owners of that site are well known YaYp haters, so, let your imagination fly......

Regards,
Using engines to cheat:
- It is not ethical,
- It is useless, nothing is gained (how can one be proud of a score earn with dishonesty?)
- You will be baned, sooner or later,
- It gives us (the true chess engine players) a bad reputation.
User avatar
matematiko
Co-Admin
Co-Admin
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: 17 Oct 2007 13:32
Location: Texas USA

Re: WARNING....ILEGAL YAYP

Postby Ri4nn4 » 25 Jan 2011 06:16

It means that other sources maybe contain harmful viruses like backdoor Trojan. So the legitimate YAYP was here in this forum. This indication will keep me away to make download in other sources.

Antivirus

User avatar
Ri4nn4
New Member
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Jan 2011 05:54


Return to YaY for POGO (YaYp)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests